Our Future, Our Story https://ofos.ca < youth write on the climate crisis > Mon, 21 Sep 2020 14:48:53 +0000 en-CA hourly 1 https://i1.wp.com/ofos.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/cropped-ofos-logo-for-other-things_big-1-1.png?fit=32%2C32&ssl=1 Our Future, Our Story https://ofos.ca 32 32 169249832 Thirtieth Letter: Sorry https://ofos.ca/thirtieth-letter-sorry/ Mon, 21 Sep 2020 14:48:20 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=436 Dear Mr. Prime Minister, and all those it may concern,

I have no idea if anyone actually reads the letters sent to this office. Especially in this time of COVID-19. I’ve sent you 29 already; this is number 30. So … Read the rest

]]>
436
Dear Earth https://ofos.ca/dear-earth/ Thu, 02 Jul 2020 16:24:11 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=411 Dear Earth,

Sorry it’s been so long since I wrote last. I guess it just kind of slipped my mind. Has it really been that many years since we talked? I’m having trouble remembering what you were telling me all … Read the rest

]]>
411
Didn’t We? https://ofos.ca/didnt-we/ Mon, 25 May 2020 13:56:52 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=400 Didn’t we all give comfort to ourselves
by allowing thoughts to slip through our minds?

Guilty but subtle thoughts like:
Nothing will ever happen to our earth.
It’s fine.
Someone will have a cure
.

Only to be shocked at … Read the rest

]]>
400
Twentieth Letter: Tragedy https://ofos.ca/twentieth-letter-tragedy/ Mon, 11 May 2020 20:44:27 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=391 Dear Mr. Prime Minister, and all those it may concern,

My name is Amelia Penney-Crocker. I’m a 14 year old Nova Scotian writer and climate activist. Since December, I’ve been writing you a letter a week and this letter marks … Read the rest

]]>
391
Earth Day Poem https://ofos.ca/earth-day-poem/ Fri, 24 Apr 2020 14:15:39 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=383 Earth you have grown
so much
Like a baby in its mother’s eyes
You have…
thrived…
You went through life, death
Deconstruction a bit a
Reconstruction
We cut down your trees
Then plant them like weeds
In places where there … Read the rest

]]>
383
Ashen Fields https://ofos.ca/ashen-fields/ Sat, 18 Apr 2020 15:29:56 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=380 Ashen fields
Their purpose yet to be revealed
Like blood congealed
Lies are spoken
Apologies now forsaken
Empty words for the empty field
Lies revealed
Fights on streets for the right of life
To them is it not trivial?
All … Read the rest

]]>
380
This Is Our Earth https://ofos.ca/this-is-our-earth/ Sat, 18 Apr 2020 15:19:29 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=376 Is this Earth?
A planet once so young
So full
So safe
Where animals could live and flourish
Without the possibility
Of raging fires or
Overhunting
A healthy green world
A world alive with animals

Is this Earth?
The peace … Read the rest

]]>
376
Coronavirus why? https://ofos.ca/coronavirus-why/ Tue, 14 Apr 2020 12:29:20 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=367 Coronavirus I ask why
Why are you here?
Why are you making our people fear?
Why did you come
at this time of year?

2020 was supposed to be
new beginnings
all of us living together

I don’t think any … Read the rest

]]>
367
An Open Letter to the Government https://ofos.ca/an-open-letter-to-the-government/ Tue, 31 Mar 2020 11:52:51 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=357 With the world’s environmental health quickly deteriorating, everyone has to make an effort to stop the global warming crisis. It will only get worse and if global nations don’t step up and take action now, it will be irreversible. This … Read the rest

]]>
357
The New Eco-friendly Server: ECOSIA https://ofos.ca/the-new-eco-friendly-server-ecosia/ Thu, 19 Mar 2020 18:00:15 +0000 https://ofos.ca/?p=351 Can you contribute to fighting climate change while using your cellphone? Ecosia says you can.

Ecosia is a search engine based in Berlin. It was founded in 2009 by Christian Kroll. How does it work? When you search a website … Read the rest

]]>
351